(Kind of) meal planning for a busy week

We have a crazy busy week coming up at our house – regular kid activities on Monday & Tuesday, meetings Monday, Tuesday & Thursday nights & a big high school hockey game to go watch Thursday evening at Xcel in St. Paul. You know, the usual… Dinners might be a little bit of a crazy mess because of this so I thought I’d at least get some breakfasts (remember my attempt to curb breakfast apathy per my younger housemates?) and lunches together. Oh yeah, and I’m throwing a dessert/treat in there also, to bribe the same youngins to deal with their crazy parents. Yes, I attempt to win their love with food. I own it.

So, this is what I have on my cooking/baking agenda for the next 24 hours. I braved Target this afternoon for groceries and already have the cake in the oven! My house is starting to smell fabulous…

Breakfast

Apple Cinnamon Raisin Baked Oatmeal from Sweet Tooth Sweet Life

Oatmeal

Morning update on the oatmeal: The husband liked it. He heated it up, poured a little milk on it and was happy. One child chose a bagel, the other child tried it and was NOT a fan. I’m fairly confident her hatred had more to do with her grumpy Monday demeanor than the oatmeal though. I thought the flavor was fantastic. The texture was my issue. That said, I am not a huge fan of old fashioned oats. If I try a baked oatmeal again, I’ll find one made with steel cut oats.

Lunch

Mother’s Pasties Recipe from A Taste of Home

Pasties

If you’re not from these parts, you may not know what a pasty is – basically a meat and veggie pie you can hold in your hand. Yum!

20 Minute Sriracha Lime and Creamy Cashew Fettuccine from Half Baked Harvest

Dinner

Easier Healthy Crock Pot Butter Chicken from Half Baked Harvest

Homemade Naan from Half Baked Harvest

Easy-Healthier-Crockpot-Butter-Chicken-6

I just had a friend give me feedback on the butter chicken – she made it the other night – and she warned against overcooking in the crock pot or the chicken gets to gummy and weird. This is one of my complaints about crock pot cooking, so I may actually just cook it stove top. She gave the flavor rave reviews thought! Very excited to try it. 

UPDATE: I made this today and did make it in the crockpot – on high for 4 hours. I thought the chicken was perfect, actually! Not gummy at all cooked at that length. I think I agree with Tieghan (the blogger) to hold back on the turmeric but it was really great and easy! It will be a repeat! It was a hit with the 10 year old who, much to this mama’s delight, is developing a love of Indian food. The uber picky 8 year old was less enthusiastic with the chicken, but devoured the naan and rice. 

Dessert

The World’s Best Chocolate Oatmeal Cake from Pinch of Yum

best-chocolate-cake-31

From the time I began writing this post until now I managed to bake, frost and taste this cake and, well, I might agree that is indeed the world’s best. You must try it. Trust me. MUST.

For the rest of this week, we’re gonna have to wing it. There is likely some Chipotle in my future. I won’t complain about that. I am, however, greatly looking forward to indulging in these fantastic homemade meals as well! As long as I plan ahead, at least a little, it makes a crazy week a little less intense and more enjoyable. Do you have any go-to busy week meals or recipes that save the crazy day?

***All photos courtesy of original blog/site authors

Leave a Reply

